Reflections for this season

Christmas tree? Could be!

Christmas tree? Could be!

Well, Thanksgiving has come and now is gone. Black Friday has come and now it is Cyber Monday. It amazes me how quickly the hype for the last two have evaporated with no thought to the Thanksgiving holiday – really! Expect for social media, not sure any company said Happy Thanksgiving! Now on to Christmas! Four weeks away, the hustle and bustle of the season. But what really is the hype about? Certainly not the real reason we celebrate. Very few take time to reflect the reason for the season. I am not knocking the giving of gifts. I am not knocking all of the preparations that goes on to get ready for this wonderful time of year! I guess since we have moved to the country with a slower pace of life and my husband’s retirement, I am looking at things a little differently. Most people have their tree up to just take down the day after or New Year’s day. There are parties to attend and people to catch up with. However, can I encourage you to take a moment and count your blessings. Truly look at your year from the prospective that all in all it has been a good year. Yep, not everything went your way. You may have had to face reports about health or family members that just “broad – sided” you. But even with all of that, it has been a great year. I am looking forward to finding that tree that will fill our living room. Watch my husband put up the colored lights (wonder how many it will be this year?)  I am looking forward to the smells that a fresh tree will bring! But I also want to remember that it is not about all of the gifts that will come my way or that I will be giving. I want to take the time to enjoy this season and reflect on all that this year has taught me. Looking forward to going into the new year with anticipation and joy!

Leave a Reply

